You know, to a large degree, I think design magazines are a form of masturbation.

When I was in school, honestly, I hardly ever went to the library to look at magazines, except when looking for something very specific. I had a lot of ideas of my own, and a hard time realizing them all, so no time to look at whatever whoever else was doing.

Nowadays, though, that I am in “practice”, I catch myself enjoying those magazines more. And you know why? I miss design. I miss it when I could just create whatever for as long as I wanted (or needed to). There was never a shortage of work at OMA, or in school.

But right now, I have to admit: the “practice” – at least the way it works for me currently – is boring. Not because the office I am at is bad – I think it’s one of the best ones on this side of the world – but purely because there isn’t much to do right now.. And so I take my time browsing through design magazines, missing the good olde days, and looking at whatever whoever else is doing..

A sure sign something needs to be changed.

