There are too many images.

By “images” I mean, pictures, graphics, ads, commercials, printed materials, photos, and so on.

It is hard to imagine how many terabytes of images there are in the personal computers of all the people around the globe. Mona Liza is reproduced in thousands of amateur variants all around the globe by individual museum visitors, who believe that if they personally take a picture of Mona Lisa with their camera, something changes, or, somehow, they start owning her; they get to own a part of it, or something. They believe that the picture they take of her is worth more than the painting itself. Are our memories – the memory of me being in Paris or New York – if put into a photograph, more concrete, than what (used to be) our own memory? Is our memory – our pictures? Are our photos – our memory? Do we think that if we snap a picture of ourselves on the Brooklyn Bridge, faking the smile (to look good and happy) while our boy/girl-friend takes it, it really means something? Do you really believe that smile? Do you believe that that picture will represent or bring back something you felt back then (if you did)? Or is it just another image? How often do you look at those images? After you’ve come back from the trip and shown everything to your parents, who won’t understand and won’t be able to feel anything of it anyway, but the ride for their children “who have been to New York!”, how often do you look at those pictures (except some truly great ones, that DO mean something to you)?

I do not usually take pictures of places I go to, unless those pictures are worth it.  I do not believe EXPERIENCE can be contained in a Polaroid. I do not believe a feeling of space you experience can be snapped and taken with you in any other form, but in the form of experience, that becomes a part of you and transforms you from within. By extension, I do not really believe in Architectural photography. True, there can be great architectural photos – I do not deny 100% of it. I am just saying that “architectural photography” has nothing to do with architecture. Same goes for the renderigs, as they are, essentially, a photography of an object not yet existent.

With all this, however, I have to acknowledge, that there ARE good renderings and there ARE good photographs just as there ARE good books or films. What I am battling against here is that there is just too much junk! And we produce that junk without even realizing it.

A true individualist/existentialist would say that if I do something for myself and it brings me pleasure, even if momentary, it makes for a good enough justification. I do not disagree, neither do I agree with this. I am just saying that along with some things that will truly stay with you, you produce too much totally useless garbage too, which, frankly, does nothing else but pollutes your hard-drive.

Call me old-fashioned, but the next time you automatically grab your camera to snap another picture, think, whether you really want to do it, or you would instead prefer to forget about your camera and just LIVE that moment, EXPERIENCE, BE in that moment, TAKE IT IN with the whole of your body and as many senses as you might have, so that it would become a part of you. If that experience doesn’t succeed in doing that, I guess, it did not deserve a photograph anyway.

